Patient Engagement in Action Archive

2018 John Q. Sherman Award Winners and Finalists

2018 Sherman Citation for Excellence in Pediatric Patient Engagement:

2018 Finalists

Allina Health’s Breast Program Committee
Lutheran Home of Southbury’s Music & Memory Program
MedStar Health’s SiTEL Program
Cleveland Clinic’s Our Voice Healthcare Partners Team
University Medical Center Groningen’s INVOLVED Program
Health Central Hospital’s Patient and Family Advisor Rounding Program
Memorial Regional Hospital’s Mobility Team
Memorial Healthcare System’s Integrative Medicine Program

2017 John Q. Sherman Award Winners and Finalists

2016 John Q. Sherman Award Winners and Finalists

2015 John Q. Sherman Award Nominees

2014 John Q. Sherman Award Nominees

Barnes-Jewish Hospital

Blanchard Valley Health System

Bronson Methodist Hospital

Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta, Asthma Center of Excellence

Children’s Hospital Colorado

Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia, Family Learning Center Nurses

Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta

Chrissie Blackburn, University Hospitals Case Medical Center

Contra Costa Regional Medical Center & Health Centers

David Mayer, MD, MedStar Health

Diana B. Denholm, Ph.D.

GHS – Patewood Memorial Hospital

Griffin Hospital

Group Health Cooperative

Iora Health

Kings County Hospital Center

Lynn Oertel and Erin Cox, Massachusetts General

Marsha Allen, Alegent Creighton Health

Massachusetts Health Quality Partners

Middlesex Hospital Patient and Family Advisory Council

Morristown Medical Center

Nasia Safdar, MD

Newton-Wellesley Hospital

OpenNotes Collaborative

OSF Home Care Services

Paul McGann, MD and Dennis Wagner, MPA, National Partnership for Patients

Quest Diagnostics

Sparrow Health System

St. Joseph Mercy Ann Arbor

The Foundation for Healthy Communities

UCSF Medical Center & UCSF Benioff Children’s Hospital

UK HealthCare

John Q. Sherman


The John Q. Sherman Award for Excellence in Patient Engagement was created in 2014 to shine a spotlight on the innovative programs and people that are improving care and outcomes through patient and family engagement. It was named for John Q. Sherman, founder of Standard Register which is now Taylor Communications. Sherman had a deep commitment to healthcare and the Dayton, Ohio community. At the onset of the Great Depression, he led the community drive to raise one million dollars in just 30 days to build the city’s Good Samaritan Hospital. Like this year’s award recipients, he changed the face of healthcare in his community.