2020 Sherman Award

Nominations Open Jan. 21 for the 2020 Sherman Award

As we approach the end of the year, it’s natural to think back and take stock of the past year’s activities. It’s also naturally a time to think about which of those undertakings you would like to nominate for the annual Sherman Award for Excellence in Patient Engagement.

Nominations for the 2020 Sherman Award will open on Tuesday, January 21. The award, which is presented by EngagingPatients.org, is sponsored by Taylor Healthcare and the Institute for Healthcare Improvement’s Lucian Leape Institute. The Sherman Award recognizes exemplary, innovative programs that build stronger engagement through deep, meaningful communication and relationships with patients and families. Self-nominations are welcome, and previous nominees are encouraged to submit updated work. Nominations will close on Friday, March 8.

Winners of the Sherman Award are chosen by a distinguished, independent judging panel. A representative from each winning organization will receive an all-expenses-paid trip (including Congress registration) to the 2020 IHI Patient Safety Congress, May 13–15 in Orlando, Florida. Additionally, winners and finalists will have the opportunity to share their success on EngagingPatients.org and to have their programs promoted throughout the year in the media and on the website.

2019 Sherman Award Winners Represent the Best in Patient Engagement

In 2019, two organizations won Sherman Awards with programs that demonstrate the breadth of settings and services that can attain excellence in patient engagement.

Scott Wallace (left), Taylor Healthcare’s vice president of sales operations, presents the Sherman Award to Jules Rosen, M.D., chief medical officer at Mind Springs Health.

Mind Springs Health, honored for its Phase-Based Care Program, is a community mental health center that serves a large geographic area in Western Colorado. The winning program provides timely access and intensity-appropriate care for patients who come to Mind Springs’ Rapid Recovery Clinic for treatment of depression. The judges commented , “Everything about this program is exceptional. This team has married patient engagement and patient experience at every step and in every way – leveraging resource utilization, cost of care and outcomes so that their processes are replicable. They might even make a case for a new model of care and reimbursement.”

The perioperative complex spine surgery team at Boston Children’s Hospital.

The other winner, Boston Children’s Hospital, in Massachusetts, redesigned the perioperative process for complex spine surgery, making it more patient focused by improving communication and coordination among families and care teams. The redesigned process resulted in shorter length of stay, lower cost, and fewer surgical-site infections. The judges said of the team, “…they were willing to listen to suggestions by patients. Eliciting real-time feedback from patients and integrating [it] into the process redesign is a strength. The fact that the family members copyedit all materials including a shared decision-making guide ensures feedback is integrated. Great outcome of the project.”

To learn more about the Sherman Award, please visit the program’s home page and Nominee Archives. Please contact Arundi Venkayya, award administrator, at Arundi.venkayya@taylorcommunications.com with questions.


Susan Carr Susan Carr is a medical editor and writer specializing in patient safety and engagement. In addition to curating the EngagingPatients blog, she produces publications for the Betsy Lehman Center in Boston and the Society to Improve Diagnosis in Medicine. Susan lives and works in Lunenburg, Massachusetts.

Susan Carr has 185 post(s) at EngagingPatients.org

Check out my: Twitter

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *